bookmooch

I just joined Bookmooch tonight because free books rank on my list of favourite things in the entire world ever. These books are freeish, not purely free, but it’s close enough for the idea to be really intriguing. Full report pending. All I’ve learned so far from my eight odd hours as a member on the site is that I have a serious problem with relinquishing my books. I got five requests immediately, and with each one felt a great lurch in my heart as I stared at my shelf from across the room and wondered seriously if I could manage to part with the book — even though all of the ones I’ve put up are books I had no intention of keeping anyway, and mostly didn’t like much in the first place. It’s a knee-jerk reaction of the soul, an instinctual conviction that that book, that one right there, the one I hated and slogged through and snarled over, might actually yet save my life, and that to package it up and catapult it into the void of the U.S. Post Office would be a dire mistake.

I might have a slight tendency towards hoarding.

In other news, I am roughly a thousand words away from being done for the semester. I can’t decide if the strange fluttering in my head and stomach is relief, dread, or just giddiness from too much thinking and too little sleep.

~ by Not Alice on December 19, 2007.

2 Responses to “bookmooch”

  1. A bibliophile with a “slight tendency towards hoarding”? Sounds like a dangerous combination to me. I’ll bet your floors are just groaning, trying to support the weight of tons of books. My problem with loaning books is that I go crazy when I don’t get them back or someone keeps them for months and months. I’d much rather buy someone a copy of the book they’re interested in and retain my own copy…

  2. I’ll look at the bookmooch site, but I don’t think I’ll be able to part with books, either. I’m TOTALLY a bibliophile with more than a slight tendency toward hoarding. As a matter of fact, I just came back from the Goodwill store with four new books. Well, they’re new to ME…

Leave a Reply

 
