19: bloodflow

Lately I like to sit on my feet until they are asleep to the point of death, so completely cut off from circulation that I can’t even move my toes. At the moment when I start to panic, imagining a life of amputation and phantom limbs, I let them down and pay close attention to the relief of bloodflow. It’s okay, I say to myself, examining my toes. I’ve still got my feet.

~ by Not Alice on November 19, 2007.

One Response to “19: bloodflow”

  1. I often wake in the middle of the night without an arm from the elbow down (I sleep on it, apparently). I always worry if I’ll do permanent damage…

Leave a Reply

 
