oh where oh where could my roommate be?

I haven’t seen my housemate since midafternoon on Saturday. To a certain extent this is not unusual; her sister lives in SF and she often is gone for part or all of the weekends. It’s sort of like living with someone who travels for business, except she works from home and disappears for fun — which is great for me; our schedules are rather opposite so I rarely have to interact with her, and anyway I really like having weekends alone with the cats. But so far she has not been gone for such an extended period, at least not without coming back (and I can always tell when she’s been back, there are always signs). I’m quavering on the precipice of serious worry. Should I be freaking out yet? What if she drowned while surfing, what if her new boyfriend turned out to be a serial killer, what if she got in a car accident? I don’t feel like I know her well enough to call her cellphone and demand where she’s been, but if she doesn’t come back soon, how will I know what’s happened to her? What would happen to the animals?

And then the other, more selfishly pressing questions: if something happened to her will I still be able to live here? How much should I feed the cats? Will she be angry if she gets back to find that I’ve drunk half the beer in the fridge?

This roommate thing, it’s complicated.

*edit* After much panic and tizzying on my part, including an unanswered phonecall (ostentatiously to ask whether I should feed the cats but really to make sure she was not dead), Roommate waltzed in looking suntanned and salty, having spent the past few days with friends and on the beach. I’m glad she’s okay. Next time I won’t start worrying until 72 hours without sighting have gone by.

~ by Not Alice on September 17, 2007.

2 Responses to “oh where oh where could my roommate be?”

  1. You know what? I’d be worried, too, and I don’t think it’s unreasonable for you to send her a text asking if she’s okay. It’s a common courtesy thing to let the people you’re living with know where you are – especially if you’re going to be gone for an extended period.

    I’m going to keep checking back to see how this plays out – I’m worried about her, and I don’t even KNOW her…

  2. She came back on her own about an hour ago, but O, I was so worried! I tried to call midevening on the premise of asking whether I should feed the cats, but she didn’t pick up and so I was in a tizzy, convinced she was dead somewhere. But no — she’d just spent the weekend with her sister, and was surfing when I called.

    I suppose I shall just have to get used to it. I mean, I don’t tell her where I’m going and when I will be back — but I don’t leave for days at a time, either, and if I did I would say so.

Leave a Reply

 
