conversation with my 90-yr-old grandmother, who has alzheimer’s

Busia*: I’m sure I won’t even recognize you or your brother when you visit.

Me: Well, I haven’t changed since you last saw me.** But my brother has gotten taller. He’s a giant! He’s huge! Over six feet!

B: [getting very excited] Really? That’s wonderful! Just wonderful!!

Me: Um, yeah, I guess it is.

B: He’s outgrown all his shortcomings!

The best part? She was totally serious and earnest, not punning at all.

*Polish for “grandmother”
**exactly one week ago

~ by Not Alice on July 7, 2007.

2 Responses to “conversation with my 90-yr-old grandmother, who has alzheimer’s”

  1. That’s sweet. I’m glad you put it here so YOU get to remember it forever…

  2. outgrown his shortcomings. what a great comment. she sounds lovely. hug her for me.

Leave a Reply

 
