first born children are cleverer

Or so this study says.

It’s because we have to carry the brunt of all our parents’ unfulfilled hopes and expectations. Believe me. I know.

In forty-six minutes I will be officially twenty-one. No celebration on the day itself: I’ll be working both jobs, going from 8.30 am to 11.30 pm with only an hour break somewhere in there. Madness! Is it any wonder that I have grown so dull in all of my communications to the civilized world? All I can think to talk about these days are legal details or the Gulag, but it doesn’t really matter since I have no friends.

I haven’t opened any presents yet, but I already know what my main one is: the complete oxford english dictionary, that several-volume set with print so tiny that a magnifying glass is required to read it. Basically this is going to be the best birthday present ever.

~ by Not Alice on June 22, 2007.

2 Responses to “first born children are cleverer”

  1. Happy Birthday!!

    We have an OED that requires a magnifying glass. The geek in me is proud to own it.

  2. Ooooooh. I have the two-volume Compact Edition of the OED (inherited from my parents once they got the muli-volume set). And here I thought I was rad. But the multi-volume set? At twenty one? You are a lucky girl.

Leave a Reply

 
