job searching

If I want to find a job, I really need to get over the snobbish conviction that just because I have read Ulysses and can type 110 words per minute I am too good for 90% of the positions available to me.

~ by Not Alice on June 1, 2007.

3 Responses to “job searching”

  1. You probably ARE too good for 90% of the jobs available to you, but how badly do you want their money (which is JUST as good as anybody’s money)?

  2. I want money very very very badly. Which is why today I went around town picking up applications to various retail jobs. I’ll probably end up working a night shift at a hotel or something … better than starbucks, but at this point I’ll take whatever I can get.

  3. Working the night shift at a hotel is not really that bad. Boring as hell, but a lot of good reading (or homework) can be done on someone else’s nickel…

    Let me ask you this, my dear; what do you WANT to do? Try not to settle or, if you have to, try settling for something that’s similar to what you want.

Leave a Reply

 
